City of Ashes and City of Glass — Cassandra Clare

McElderry, 2008 and 2008

City_of_Ashes

The Saga of Clary, Simon, Jace and the Lightwoods continue in City of Ashes and City of Glass. I don’t want to give to much away, but things get kind of crazy. Simon becomes a vampire. There is more trying to stop Valentine from taking over the world. But, the story is compelling and fast paced. It’s not easy to put down once you’ve started.

I have to admit, I’m glad I continued reading The Mortal Instruments series.  To be perfectly honest, I only read the City of Bones because I wanted to see the movie. One of my ‘things’ is that I need to read the book before I see the movie. The only exceptions to this are The Lord of the Rings movies. I even tried to read those books and just couldn’t make it through them. I digress, I thought book 2 was much better and I enjoyed book 3 as well.

So what did I like about these books? I liked the character development as Clary realizes her own strength but also comes to terms with her weaknesses.

City_of_glass

To me these books are a better done version of the Twilight series. Clary is the center and two boys are fighting over, her original best friend changes into something paranormal. And there is a reason for during book 2 for why the guy she actually is in love with can’t be together. While the twists are different (brother and sister anyone?) the basic plot line is the same. Like I said in my review of City of Bones, I think this story is good, but it has been done again since it first came out. So while I liked the books and I think the second and third books were much better than the first, it still is not mind blowing for me.

I’m not sure if I’m going to continue with this series. I feel like City of Glass finished the series nicely for me and answered all the questions I had. If I read anything else by Cassandra Clare I will probably try one of her other series. Maybe The Bane Chronicles? I’m a pretty big Magnus fan.

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to City of Ashes and City of Glass — Cassandra Clare

  1. Molly says:

    I am just now finishing up City of Glass. I’m going to post my thoughts sometime in the future, but I agree with you. It’s a slightly more sophisticated Twilight without the mixed messages about anti-feminism. Although Clary does worship Jace just a little bit (but hey, let’s face it, I probably would too…especially if he looked like Jamie Campbell Bower).

Leave a Reply

