The Naturals — Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Disney Hyperion, Out November 5, 2013

The-Naturals-Jennifer-Lynn-BarnesCassie is a natural at reading people. She can tell you who you are and what you want. It’s not something she ever took seriously until the FBI want her to join a classified program that use teenagers with ‘natural’ talents to crack cold cases and they need Cassie to be one of their profilers. The other teens in the Naturals program are not what they seem and cracking cold cases is not as safe as Cassie thought. Soon she is embroiled in a cat and mouse game with a killer and it’s up to the other Naturals to help Cassie survive.

Review: The Naturals was so much fun to read. Think the TV show Bones meets YA Lit. I LOVED it. I’ve been on a mystery kick right now. Probably due to my ‘Once Upon a Crime’ readers advisory poster I made. Either way, I’m really enjoying this kick. I’ve never been one for mysteries much before.

I thought the idea behind The Naturals was really interesting. I thought it was fun to read about geniuses who are all a little off and aren’t afraid to let people know exactly what’s on their mind. Cassie was a fun character to read. She is a go-getter, wants answers and is willing to fudge some boundaries while she’s getting them. All the other Naturals were strong characters themselves. I hope that other books could focus on the Naturals. All of them were compelling and I want to know what brought them to the program.

There is a love triangle between Cassie, Dean, a fellow profiler and Michael, who can rad peoples emotions. I am definitely rooting for one over the other but I liked both of them and the triangle. I liked that the boys had their own stories and neither of them was the traditional ‘best friend who has been in love with the main character forever’. Both Dean and Michael have a depth to them that is not usual in the traditional YA love triangle.

I didn’t see the ending coming. There were quite a few twists and turns that threw me off the scent. I can’t recommend this book enough. It was one of my favorite books that I read over the summer.

If you liked The Naturals, check out:

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

allouryesterdays

The Morgue and Me by John C. Ford

morgue and me

Heist Society by Ally Carter

hest

Spirit and Dust by Rosemary Clement-Moore

spirit

**Thank you to Disney Hyperion for providing me with an Advanced Readers Copy through NetGalley**

This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Naturals — Jennifer Lynn Barnes

  1. Kimberly says:

    Great review! I haven’t seen this book yet, and it sounds very interesting.

Leave a Reply

