The Hidden Gallery (Book 2 Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place) — Maryrose Wood

Balzer + Bray, 2010

0061791121.01.LZZZZZZZ

After nearly destroying Ashton Place at Lady Constance’s Christmas Ball, the Incorrigible Children along with their governess, Penelope Lumley, head to London. Penelope is excited to use London’s sights to further her unusual pupils’ education. But the city presents challenges for her pupils as well. Buckingham Palace Guards hats prove to be particularly difficult. London also provides clues to the children’s past and surprisingly, Penelope’s past as well…

Review: The Hidden Gallery continues the saga of the Incorrigible children. It is just as wonderful at The Mysterious Howling. Wood incorporates the same wit and humor she did in the first book. I have to admit, I wish I was a Swanburne girl. Agatha’s saying only get better in this book.

There is a bit of a love interest in this book. Penelope meets Simon, an aspiring dramatist. I loved their semi-awkward interactions and excitement to see each other. The new cast of characters besides Simon were fun to read about. I hope to see the fortune-teller again. She was just enough creepy with a mix of fun to make her an interesting character.

The mysteries from the first book aren’t resolved in this book. The reader does get some clues to the background of the the children and Penelope, but mostly the questions just continue to pile on. I hope some of my questions get answered in the third book, but I’m not holding my breath since there are six books in the series.

I recommend continuing this series! I’ve completely fallen in love with all of the characters, even the shrill Lady Constance. I can’t wait to see what the other books bring. (Hopefully, more saying from Agatha Swanburne.)

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

