Picture Books for Kindergarten

My best friend from elementary school just started teaching Kindergarten. She asked me to come up with some picture books that she could potentially use in her classroom. This is what I came up with. The list got a little bit away from me. There are way more titles than I originally anticipated. I just couldn’t leave off some of my favorites.

41fpHOdPs0L._SX300_Press Here – Herve Tullet

I Want my Hat Back – Jon Klassen

The Snowy Day – Ezra Jack Keats

A Chair for my Mother – Vera B. Williams

Skippyjon Jones Books – Judy Schachner

spoonSpoon – Amy Krouse Rosenthal

Grumpy Bird – Jeremy Tankard

Pete the Cat  – Eric Litwin

Chloe – Peter McCarty

In the Night Kitchen – Maurice Sendak

0395446120Curious George – Margaret Rey and H.A. Rey

The Z was Zapped – Chris Van Allsberg

Make Way for Ducklings – Robert McCloskey

Dragons Love Tacos – Adam Rubin

Ducks Don’t Wear Socks – John Nedwidek

downloadOh No, George! – Chris Haughton

Go Away Big Green Monster! – Ed Emberley

The Dot – Peter H. Reynolds

I Love my New Toy! An Elephant and Piggie Book – Mo Willems

lillyLilly’s Purple Plastic Purse – Kevin Henkes

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom – Bill Martin Jr., John Archambault and Lois Ehlert

No, David! – David Shannon

Mouse Count –  Ellen Stoll Walsh

A Sick Day for Amos McGee – Philip C. Stead and Erin Stead

510anWIq5QL._SY300_

Officer Buckle and Gloria – Peggy Rathmann

Up! Tall! And High! – Ethan Long

The Sneetches and Other Stories – Dr. Seuss

The Paper Bag Princess – Robert Munsch

Froggy Learns to Swim – Jonathan London and Frank Remkiewicz

Click Clack Moo: Cows that Type – Doreen Cronin

Z is for Moose –  Kelly Bingham and Paul O. Zelinsky

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in List and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

