Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls Book 1) — Maggie Stiefvater

Scholastic, 2009
shiver1Grace has always watched the wolves behind her house, especially her wolf. One day she meets a boy with the same yellow eyes as her wolf. Is it possible that they are the same?

Sam lives two separate lives. In the summer, he is human and when the weather turns cold, he turns into Grace’s wolf. Finally, Grace and meets Sam as a human right as winter is coming. Sam and Grace fight for him to stay human, or they could lose each other forever.

Review: I feel like I’m late to this bandwagon as well. There have been a lot of books that I’ve been meaning to read for years that I am just now getting to read. Shiver was one of those books. I’ve been on a Maggie Stiefvater kick recently and as always with her books, the descriptions of the places were beautiful. I still think she is one of the best writers for young adults right now. Besides the praises I have given her in my recent review of The Dream Thieves, what I liked about Shiver was the unique take on werewolves. Paranormal romances are in vogue right now and this one thinks out of the box.

Shiver is written in alternating perspectives from Grace and Sam. I like that you get to see both of their feelings. I especially enjoyed Sam the Wolf’s point of view. Stiefvater creates the plot around the supernatural and weaves in real issues that ‘normal’ teens struggle with. This balances the outrageous situations and lets the characters struggle and develop on multiple levels. Sam and Grace suffer mildly from ‘insta-love’ which got on my nerves a tiny bit when reading. However, I felt that the realness of their problems and being able to work through them with some normalcy counteracted the ‘insta-love’ feel for me.

If you enjoyed Shiver, you should check out:

  1. Beautiful Creatures (Book 1 of The Castor Chronicles) by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
  2. City of Bones (Book 1 of The Mortal Instruments Series) by Cassandra Clare
  3. Dead Until Dark (Book 1 of the Sookie Stackhouse Novels) by Charlaine Harris **(FYI this is an adult book with some adult themes)
  4. The Diviners (Book 1 of the Diviners Series) by Libba Bray
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

