The Dream Thieves (Book 2 of The Raven Cycle) — Maggie Stiefvater

Scholastic, Out September 17, 2013

tdt

Now that Cabeswater has been woken, everything has changed for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam. Ronan’s dreams are becoming reality more often than not. In addition to everything happening with Cabeswater, more unsavory people have come to Henrietta to look for the same pieces of the Glendower puzzle that Gansey has been looking for.

Review: The Dream Thieves was riveting and wonderful. Sequels are always tricky things, but this book exceeded expectations. Maggie Stiefvater is one of the young adult authors that consistently writes beautifully. Everything I have read by her has been well done. She is especially skilled in writing descriptions of places. (If you haven’t checked out The Scorpio Races, she does an especially amazing job in that book) I love that when I read any of her novels, I can see everything. I am right there in the book with the boys and Blue. She makes the places in the book integral to the part that they are other characters. Cabeswater, 300 Fox Way, Monmoth Manufacturing all themselves play key roles.

The Dream Thieves deals mostly with Ronan, which for the first about 200 pages I wasn’t a huge fan of. Ronan is a total bad boy. I have no sympathy or love for bad boys in YA lit right now. I think I’m in the minority here, so I’m assuming most people will enjoy it. With that being said, I feel like I got to know Ronan better, and like him MUCH more now that I did in The Raven Boys. The last half of the book was jam packed with intense action. It was thrilling and I felt like I was racing towards the end. I could not read it fast enough for my liking.

Oh boy and that cliffhanger! I just want to say: be prepared. It’s intense and I can’t wait to see what book 3 will bring us.

**I read an advanced readers copy of this book. Thanks to Scholastic for providing me with a copy.**

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Dream Thieves (Book 2 of The Raven Cycle) — Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I guess Ronan gets a special place in my heart because he speaks Latin and I studied it for three years in High School lol. But I get that he’s not a character for everybody. I think for me in The Raven Boys, I loved his complexity as a character in comparison to Adam and Gansey. I’m really excited to read this one next month :). Ohhh the Cliffhanger in this one, is it as confusing as the one in The Raven Boys?

    • emmadeboer says:

      I can appreciate Ronan as a character, he’s just not my favorite. I think you will really enjoy this one. And the cliffhanger is pretty straightforward but like I said INTENSE!

  2. Pingback: Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls Book 1) — Maggie Stiefvater | Confessions from a Bibliophile

  3. Pingback: Top Ten YA Relationships | Confessions from a Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

