Crewel — Gennifer Albin

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2012

crewel__span

Adelice can change the very fabric of reality, but her parents want her to keep her power hidden. They don’t want her to become a Spinster, a seemingly powerful women who can control others destinies but not their own. When Adelice is taken to become a Spinster, she discovers that there are even more secrets about the world she lives in and weaves in. As she gets entangled in politics and love, she comes to understand her own power and she must to decide if she wants to save her world…or destroy it.

Review: I thought the concept for this book was wonderful. It was really unique and creative. The thought that went into creating this world is mind boggling. It has elements of sci-fi, but it is still within the very popular dystopian genre. Crewel took a different spin on that genre than many of other dystopian books out right now. Crewel‘s take on reality is fascinating. I liked that people could weave the fabric of reality and control, to an extent, resources and the people who live in the world. I enjoyed the juxtaposition between having the power to change the very reality of the world you live in and not actually have any power within the world. This interplay really pulled you into the world and made you feel for Adelice. However, one of the things that I didn’t like about this book is that a lot of the secondary characters seemed either good or bad. There were some little things that made you pause, but for the most part, the majority of those characters were very one sided.

I didn’t see most of the plot twists, which is unusual for me. Usually while I’m reading, I’m constantly trying to figure out what’s going to happen next. I like to try to figure out the story before it happens. I was planning on Crewel to be similar to other dystopian books that I’ve read. It wasn’t. There were twists and turns that I didn’t see coming, that I can’t say here because they are major spoilers and I don’t want to give anything away. Let’s just say that after you read Crewel, October (when Altered, the sequel comes out) will seem FOREVER away. All I want to do is stay wrapped up in the world that Albin created.

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

