That’s How It Works

I’ve been volunteering on the Children’s Reference Desk at Cedar Park Library this past week as their Summer Reading Program (Dig into Reading) starts. If I needed any confirmation that I love what I’m going to school to do, this week provided it for me.

“Tell the librarian what you like and she will find you a book that you’ll love. That’s how it works.”

That was a direct quote from an 8 year old boy to his little brother as he brought him up to the reference desk to ask for help finding a book. My response in my heart was, “Oh my God, YES! Of course that’s what happens at the library and I WILL find you a book that you love!” in reality I said, “That’s right, what kind of books do you like? And I’ll see what I can do.”

I was able to help him find a few books he liked. He wanted books on the night and the sun. I found him the 2009 Caldecott winner, House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson and the 1975 Caldecott winner, Arrow to the Sun: A Pueblo Indian Tale by Gerald McDermott. I was also able to turn him on to Pete the Cat (my favorite!!) because his brother told him he needed a funny book.

house-in-the-night-cover arrow-to-sun Pete-the-Cat

This is the part of the working at the library that I love. I love helping kids find books that they want to read and helping to turn them into readers.

Anyone have any similar stories? Please leave them in the comments!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

