Favorite Literary Quotes

This was going to be another Top 10, but I couldn’t leave off my last two so, it’s a Top 12 list.

I LOVE quotes of all kinds, but I especially love book quotes. My next tattoo will be a literary quote. I’ve kept a quote journal since I was little. I was never one for a diary. I always wanted to be a diary keeper, but it lasted two days and then I never opened the diary again. I was able to keep up with my favorite quotes though. So here are my favorite literary quotes of all time. Disclaimer: These in no way reflect my favorite books, some of these books are BORING, but they are beautifully written and poignant quotes nonetheless.

12.) “You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope.” – Persuasion, Jane Austen

11.) “We ate well and cheaply and drank well and cheaply and slept well and warm together and loved each other.” – A Moveable Feast, Ernest Hemingway

10.)  “…and made her the very brightest little jet of flame that ever danced upon the earth.” – The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne

9.) “What you do, the way you think, makes you beautiful.” –  The Uglies, Scott Westerfeld

8.) “After all, tomorrow is another day.” –  Gone With the Wind, Margaret Mitchell

7.) “Beware; for I am fearless, and therefore powerful.” – Frankenstein, Mary Shelley

6.) “WOW,” that’s just about all Lilly could say, “WOW.” – Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Kevin Henkes

5.) “Life is a game boy. Life is a game that one plays according to the rules.” –  Catcher in the Rye, J.D. Salinger

4.) “Well I’m seventeen and I’m crazy…I like to smell things and look at things and sometimes stay up all night walking and watch the sunrise.” – Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury

3.) ““Ronald,” said Elizabeth, “Your clothes are really pretty and your hair is all neat. You look like a real prince, but you are a bum.” They didn’t get married after all.” – The Paper Bag Princess, Robert Munsch

2.) “All changed, changed utterly:

      A terrible beauty is born.” – Easter, 1916, W.B. Yeats

1.) “May I ask whether these pleasing attentions proceed from the impulse of the moment, or are the result of previous study?” – Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen

Hope you enjoyed them! Please leave your favorite quotes in the comments!

This entry was posted in List and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Favorite Literary Quotes

  1. laurenkaye01 says:

    too many to leave! i should do my own post ;)…at the top of the list is the one i’m getting as a tattoo–“hope is the thing with feathers that perches in the soul,” emily dickinson.

  2. emmadeboer says:

    Aww that’s a good one!! and you should! The quote I’m getting is my number one 🙂

  3. Kate says:

    love this, emma! one of my very favorites is from jane eyre: “but i believed in the existence of other and more vivid kinds of goodness, and what i believed in i wished to behold.”

  4. Number 7, the Frankenstein one, was amazing! I thoroughly enjoyed that book, especially the monster’s quotes!

Leave a Reply

