Top 10 Literary Redheads

literary red headsAfter talking today about Jamie Fraser and the Outlander series, I decided to make a top ten literary redheads post. Some of them are male and some of them are female. I love all of them and because of them I desperately wanted to be a redhead instead of a boring blonde for most of my childhood. It took me a long time to come to terms with my hair. So here they are, My Top Ten Literary Redheads:

10.) Madeline – The first literary redhead I came to know and love. She was precocious and said, “Pooh, pooh.” to the tiger in the Zoo.

9.) Meggie Cleary (The Thorn Birds) – I always thought her life was so tragically romantic and a deep dark secret part of me wanted that forbidden love all throughout high school (and sometimes still now).

8.) Fancy Nancy – She’s so fancy, what else is there to say?

7.) Pippi Longstocking – I wanted to be just like her when I was growing up, who didn’t want to outsmart all the nasty grownups in their life?

6.) Alana (Song of the Lioness) – Alana is such a badass. She decides she wants to be a knight in a place and time where women aren’t allowed to become knights. She is fierce and strong. The feminist inside me loves every part of her character.

5.) Nancy Drew – While admittedly she is described as strawberry blonde, she solves mysteries and is a better, cooler version of Daphne from Scooby-Doo. The fact that I read about 50 of these books by the fourth grade also has a pretty big influence how high I’m ranking her.

4.) Ron Weasley (Harry Potter) – Quirky, awkward, tall and has a heart of gold, my kind of man.

3.) Anne Shirley (Anne of Green Gables Series) – Another spunky girl. She had such a huge imagination. I always wish I had part of her mind. The fact that she’s Canadian like me doesn’t hurt either. 😉

2.) Marcus Flutie (Jessica Darling Series) – What girl doesn’t want to date the reformed bad boy? Marcus Flutie was the boyfriend I wanted all throughout high school and most of college. Instead, I got a string of bad boys that never reformed.

1.) Jamie Fraser (Outlander Series) – Just WOW. There isn’t a whole lot more to say about Jamie Fraser than I wish he was my husband. He has been my top literary crush for the past 7 years, pretty much since I first started the series.


I first wanted to make this list a love of all my ginger male book characters that I love, but then I realized that so many of my favorite female characters were gingers and I couldn’t leave them out from this list! Because of this, my list  morphed into something very female dominated. I guess I always have been a sucker for a strong female lead.

This entry was posted in List and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top 10 Literary Redheads

  1. laurenkaye01 says:

    ALANNA! ANNE (with an E, of course)! MARCUS! JAMIE FRASER!!!!!! damn, i love me some redheads, too. i dreamed of having red hair when i was a kid…never mind that it totally wouldn’t go with my complexion 😉

  2. bookbabbler383 says:

    Nice Post! I’d have to say that Nancy Drew is my absolute favorite though.

Leave a Reply

